ChiRunning DVD Review and Giveaway

mediaWhen I first tried to read the ChiRunning book after a friend recommended it to help me qualify for Boston, I couldn’t get through it.

I really wanted to like it — the friend who recommended it to me is the same one who ran Badwater (135 miles) and Western States (100 miles) within two weeks of each other last summer, so he knows his stuff.

But while I picked up a few tips from the ChiRunning book that I still think about when I run today, I found the book itself mind-numbingly boring and ineffective at getting me to really understand the feeling and movements it described.

Enter the DVD

The ChiRunning people got in touch a few weeks ago to see if I’d like to review the ChiRunning DVD, and I agreed, with the caveat that I had found the book less than stellar.

When I turned it on, I remained skeptical.

First, the production and music were cheesy.  Chi-sy, perhaps? (Sorry.  Now that is cheesy.)

Second, there was really nothing at the beginning to inspire.  As I’m sure you’ve found, one of the best parts of taking on a new fitness program, approach, or pretty much anything claiming to be “revolutionary,” is the beginning — the anticipation you feel as you crack the spine of a promising new book, the overwhelming feeling of “this is the answer I’ve been looking for and I can’t wait to get into it,” and the renewed motivation to work hard to make it all happen.

There was none of that.  A few camera shots of an Asian guy twisting around (presumably harnessing his Chi) and some mention of waterfalls and gravity and physics.

I don’t know about you, but that doesn’t get me all hot and bothered and eager to grab a bag of popcorn to learn about running form for an hour.  Some data or even just some testimonials about how ChiRunning has changed people’s lives as runners — which I know from other sources it has — would have been fantastic for holding my attention as we plunged into the material, which is necessarily dry.

And yet, it grew on me

I kept watching.  Though the presentation wasn’t all that exciting, the information was.  And (crucially), the DVD format allows you to actually see the running form in action, a huge advantage over static images on a page.  (Note: A ChiRunning clinic, like the one Susan reviewed last year, would surely be even better.)

As Danny Dreyer, the inventor of ChiRunning, went on about proper form, guiding you through several interactive exercises designed to demonstrate why the ChiRunning principles lead to painless, injury-free running, I found myself nodding my head.  Nearly all of these principles were things I had gathered from other sources, the tidbits I had pulled out of other sources and pieced together into the running form that feels best:

  • Keeping your core engaged and pelvis level, from Core Performance
  • Turning your legs over at a rate of 180 steps per minute, from Jack Daniels
  • The mental image of holding butterflies in your hands, from Stu Mittleman
  • Striking with your midfoot rather than your heel, from the barefoot running movement and others

In other words, the philosophy behind ChiRunning — the aim of minimizing the stress your body feels and of moving in a way that’s extremely comfortable and efficient above all else — is very much the criteria I’ve used in deciding what advice to listen to and what to throw out over the years as I’ve read and learned from various running books and coaches.

The ChiRunning signature: the forward lean

Someone once half-jokingly told me that ChiRunning could be summed up in just two words: lean forward.

While there’s way more than that, the forward lean is what ChiRunning is built on, and it’s something you don’t hear much about from other sources. (I believe the POSE method teaches something like this, but I haven’t yet gone into depth with POSE.)

It’s not a lean from the hips, which would only make running harder, but rather from the ankles, so that the whole body forms a straight but forward-leaning line.  With this lean, the act of running becomes a matter of moving your feet forward to catch yourself from falling, thus using gravity rather than a deliberate push from your legs.  Lean more, and you’ve got to go faster to keep up.  Lean less, and you’ll run slower.

Along with this lean come a few mental images that I like, of which there are many more in the DVD — but my favorites are those of swinging your arms and legs backwards from your forward-leaning body, rather than reaching forward with them, a common mistake that causes instability, a heelstrike, and a lot of injuries.

So, after watching the ChiRunning DVD, I guess you could call me a convert.  I do hope they up the production budget for the next version — after all, they’re still on the 2009 edition… and how lame were we all back in ’09?  But really, there’s a lot of great stuff here, and it’s something I’ll watch a few more times and incorporate, for sure.  If your form is something you’ve never thought much about, or you’re struggling with injuries, ChiRunning is a great place to turn.

How you can win a copy

I mentioned above that the people at ChiRunning were nice enough to give me another copy to give away to one of you.  So let’s do it!  Leave a comment on this post and you’ll be entered.  I’ll choose a winner next Monday.  The only condition is that you contribute something useful to the conversation — “Hey Matt, you and your blog suck.  Enter me, ass!” won’t do much for you.

Have a great day.

191 Comments

 


Dig this post?
Spread the word!

Keep in touch:

How I Took 104 Minutes Off My Marathon Time to Qualify for Boston



blueprint-cover-791x1024Less than 10 percent of marathoners will ever qualify for Boston. Ten percent is a pretty small number, but you know what’s much smaller? The percentage of marathoners who take over 100 minutes off their time to get there. But that’s exactly what I did: after taking almost 5 hours to finish my first marathon, I ran a 3:09:59 and got into Boston. In this free, 9-page PDF report, I explain the biggest mental keys I used to take so much time off my marathon and get to Boston — and more importantly, how you can apply them to help you run your own BQ. Click here to get instant access to the Blueprint email series and start planning YOUR BQ today.

Comments

  1. Hey! I would love to learn about this method. There was a seminar by me not too long ago, but I wasn’t able to go. I also seem to be prone to getting ITBS and maybe this would help. :)

    • Hi Kristen,
      One of the common causes of ITB problems is when your hips sway side to side as you run. Lateral movement of your pelvis tightens your IT band because as your foot lands under you your hip moves sideways. When you focus on keeping your pelvis level (one of the core principles of ChiRunning) you stabilize your movement and don’t have that sideways pressure on your hips.

      • Thank you Hazel,

        I recovered from ITBS after a year of therapy. Then I did a race with 2 huge bridges and it flared up in my other knee. I’m trying to get rid of it on my own this time or with the help of ChiRunning.
        Thanks for your suggestions,
        Kristin

  2. angela gibson says:

    This sounds exactly what I need. I had menengitis and didn’t run for 3 months. I feel akward when I run now. Help me her my mojo back!

  3. Michelle C. says:

    I’ll agree about the book. I tried reading it alone, but it wasn’t until after I had taken a half-day workshop that the book was actually useful to me. I’m just starting back into running though after an injury, so I’d love to check out the DVD to reinforce all the good stuff I’ve forgotten since the workshop.

  4. I never thought I’d run–let alone *enjoy* running but here I am 8 months since I joined the gym [again] and I’m running usually 3, sometimes 4, miles three to four times a week and loving it! I feel great and am looking a little better. HOWEVER, I feel like my technique could be greatly improved. I was recommended Chi Running but have yet to check it out! Now that you’re recommending it as well I’d love to get my hands on a copy of it!

  5. Michelle says:

    I would love to see it. I have a road block to start back even on the treadmill again….motivation, new techniques would help

  6. I just read about forward leaning, somewhere, recently. Wish I could remember where, but I’ve read a ton of running books/magazines/blogs in the past few months (nothing about Chi, though!)Thanks for the review!

  7. I read the book a long time ago and felt the same way that you did. I had a really hard time visualizing what I was supposed to be doing. I read the whole thing but didn’t change my running much. The DVD would be great for me see what it’s all about again.

  8. A friend of mine is really pushing me to look into Chi Running because she swears by it and I’m constantly injured. I havent because I didnt want to pay a ton for all of the stuff on their site so I’d love to win the dvd to see what it’s all about! I’ve changed to a midfoot strike and ended up with achilles tendinitis so I’m clearly doing something wrong and could use all the help I could get!

  9. I tend to run more straight up without much lean so this would be great for me to see!

  10. Huh, I found the same thing from the book. I WANTED to love it, incorporate it, be a convert. But it was so boring I couldn’t get through it. Glad to hear the DVD is more user friendly.

  11. Matt,
    I just finished (2 weeks ago) running 2,621 miles across the country from CA to NYC. Periodically runners would join me and many times I heard about CHI running and how it would help me. I guess they were looking at my tired and lumbering stride. What do expect after weeks or months of running? At any rate, I admit my I need improvement (yes even after a cross continental crossing) and want to learn about CHI running because I heard about it so many times. I got to know what it is all about. I am planning on a Badwater crossing in two months and anything that will improve my stride is greatly appreciated. Keep up the great work bro.

  12. I took a ChiRunning class last month and after four hours of instruction, I came away with the exact same message: lean forward. If you already know not to strike at the heel, shrug your shoulders, slouch or clench your fists, congratulations, you’re ChiRunning. Skip the book, the DVD and the class and just go running.

  13. I got this book from the library twice. The first time, I read the statement somewhere in the intro that their aim was to give you back the joy you had in running when you were a child. I closed the book & returned it to the library the next day — I never ran as a child & “joy” in anything athletic was completely outside my experience, so I figured this book couldn’t be for me. I checked it out again a year or so later, read it & kinda get it. As a non-runner, I found Chi Walking more useful, though I don’t do the exercises… I suppose if I want to get better at this I should, huh?

  14. i got on alright with the book, although i do need to read it again soon. but i agree, it would be easier to perfect the technique with moving images to look at. with hindsight, it seems remarkably similar to the techniques employed in running barefoot – but with fewer sympathetic looks from the neighbours!

  15. The book did help me begin running again after a few years of knee pain. My husband is huge heel striker and he appreciates the info but won’t read the book. Maybe the DVD/1 hour commitment would make it easier to digest. Thanks for always providing us with such great info!

  16. I have the book sitting on my shelf. Over the past 12+ months I have tried again and again to read it. I guess I’m just more of a visual learner. This book seems like it holds a wealth of information but I can’t extract it. I really want to improve my form but I’m not going to be able to accomplish that by reading this book. Maybe the DVD would help but your review leaves me skeptical, again.

  17. Thanks for your review. I’ve been wanting to learn more about Chi running, but have not found enough about it to determine if I want to invest time in finding a class. The DVD may be a good alternative.

  18. Patrick Nottingham says:

    I just bought and finished your roadmap to the half marathon. I noticed a lot of similarities to what I’ve read about Chi running in it. I’d love the DVD so I can see that form for myself.

  19. Recently, I was talking with a friend of mine and we were discussing the best and natural form of running and landing on the ball of your feet is a good technique to keep the legs/knees healthy. I am a novice runner and find it very hard to continue running because I think I tire easily. I really want to learn the most efficient and relatively stress free way to run. I am not a big stride person. If I win the DVD, I will hugely benefit from it while training for my first marathon! Thanks for sharing Matt.

  20. I have watched brief video of chirunning on youtube and headed over to amazon to buy the book but found one review that caught my eye. when you have some time please take a look at this review (http://amzn.to/ifDrgf) and let me know if concerns raised by the reviewer is valid or not. I hope this extra work for you does not disqualify me from getting the free DVD! :)

    • well, it depends.

      When I started running 2 years ago, the Chi Running book helped me A LOT.

      Leaning forward from the ankles, picking my foot up instead of pounding and pushing, swinging the arms backwards, having good posture (like a straight column) and having a nice balanced pelvis were really key for me.

      Lately I have switched to more minimal running and I still use the clues from Chi Running.

      So, for the typical shod runner this book offers great advice and even experienced minimal runners could benefit here and there. Maybe Danny Dryer didnt get Pilates and Tai Chi right… but so what, the book can still be helpful.

      And I think that it’s even compatible with a forefoot strike although it proposes a midfoot strike. As for the notion on the “unnatural pelvis”: I did some Tai Chi and I sing in a choir, so I am very familiar with “proper standing” and found the Chi Running advice very helpful. I just wasnt used to apply this kind of pelvis position to running, but it has helped me a lot.

      To put it in a nutshell, the amazon review does have some points, but dont throw the baby out with the bathwater…

      Butthe reviewer makes a useful hint: combine the information from this book with Gordon Pirie ( http://www.scribd.com/doc/13695/Gordon-Piries-Running-Fast-and-Injury-Free ) and your own experimentation and you’ll be fine :)

  21. The lean forward technique is really intriguing to me. When I was on my long run last week I noticed I was leaning (totally by accident) but it felt pretty good. I’d love to see this technique demonstrated by someone who knows what they’re talking about and learn more about why it works.

  22. I am currently reading the ChiRunning book, and, like you, am struggling with understanding the content just from the pictures and verbage. This morning on a recovery run I tried “rotating my pelvis” and it definitely seemed like a lightbulb moment, and I liked the feel of it. I’m a heel striker with a past history of plantar facsiitis (sp?), and am looking to improve my form for my first marathon this November. Thanks for writing a great blog, I always look forward to reading it.

  23. I’m intrigued – I’ve never heard of ChiRunning. I’m just starting to get back into running slooooooowly so maybe this would work for me!

  24. Amanda Rodriguez says:

    I actually participated in a Chi Running workshop in Asheville, NC (the birthplace of Chi Running). I have struggled with knee pain that made running impossible. Now I run three times per week. It’s not pain-free, but it’s a major improvement. I think watching the DVD to repeatedly remind me of the proper techniques would be really beneficial for getting rid of those last nagging knee aches. Also, remember that Chi Running doesn’t take the place of stretching!

    • Jon Weisblatt says:

      Hi Amanda,
      I will probably seem like a goob (which I don’t mean to be) for this but just to be correct Danny Dreyer began teaching the technique from San Rafael, CA and moved to Asheville a few years ago. He may have even started developing the technique back in Colorado Springs before living in San Rafael. Do you live in Asheville? I’ve heard it’s a great place.

  25. I’m just getting back into running again after about a month break, and I’d love to focus on my form more

  26. Tess Moore says:

    I checked this book out from the library several months ago and have been practicing. I can’t quite remember everything so I would love to win this DVD so I can pop it in and refresh my memory. I do like the theory and posture. It really has helped my running style.

  27. Micah Monroe says:

    My wife got the book on Chi Walking and found it super helpful.

  28. I’ve been curious about the ChiRunning thing for a long time and was pretty bummed when I missed a free Chi running clinic held in my town. My run club coach got me on the midfoot strike thing though, and it allowed me to ditch my super support shoes and go to minimalist shoes – the Saucony Kinvara in fact. I have had no pain, and I attribute this greatly to changing my strike. I’d love to see what else the DVD has to say….

  29. I am a casual, short distance runner (right now). I’d love to learn more about technique as I increase my distances!

  30. I tried reading the book a few months back, but just wasn’t getting it from the descriptions and eventually gave up. I’d love to check out the DVD someday, but for now it’s not something I’d be willing to spend the extra money on. Thanks for the review!

  31. I attended a half-day ChiRunning workshop a couple months ago and really enjoyed it. We watched a couple snippets of the DVD in the class, but it was great to get outside and try things out while the instructor gave us pointers. I really think it’s a great program (I have the book and enjoyed it, but found being able to see the practice in person at the clinic to help more than just the text!)

  32. Being a relatively new runner, I’m open to suggestions. Hadn’t heard of Chi Running before but will check it out (literally) from the library. Thanks for the review.

  33. Since I’ve been trying to follow some of those ideas as you’ve described them in the Half-Marathon roadmap, I’d definitely be interested to “see the source,” as it were. Can’t say for sure that I’m actually doing the ChiRunning lean, but I have noticed I am less wiped on the runs where I aim for higher turnover and less heel-striking, suggesting it is sparing me some wear & tear and making it easier to gain speed.

    I’m enough of a masochist that I’d read the book if I’m not the lucky winner.

  34. When I first started running 2 1/2 years ago I starting looking into the POSE method because of some IT band pain. I ended up running almost all my treadmill runs barefoot because of the advice I found there. You are correct, the POSE method talks a lot about the lean forward to minimize the effort required to propel yourself forward. But I would definitely like to learn more about the CHI method. You are correct, the written explanations of this type of thing can be really boring.

  35. Corey H. says:

    I feel you, I’m in the midst of reading the book – made it to chapter 6… think I’m calling it quits. Come on “winning the DVD”!

  36. I read the book, heard a bunch of interviews and seen several YouTube videos, but maybe a DVD featuring Dreyer will help me visualize. Maybe it’ll come in handy as I train for this next marathon.

  37. I’ve found that most good running advice tends to lean along the same lines (get it, lean?)

    We put on natural running clinics at the store where I coach, and that’s certainly one of the components. I haven’t looked into Chi Running specifically yet but would certainly like to.

    I (almost) met Danny at the Boston Expo this year. A friend of mine that had moved away was working the booth with him and Danny was busy with other folks and never really acknowledged me except as I was leaving so I didn’t get much of an opportunity to talk to him at all (and get sold on purchasing a DVD.)

  38. I purchased the Chi Running audio files to play on my ipod both for the initial learning and as a tool when running. Perhaps I’m more of a visual person but I found they lacked something to keep me working with the program. Frankly, the soft mellow tones of the speaker actually make them better for falling asleep! But I’d like to give this program another try and I’m curious to see if the DVD would be a little more helpful.

  39. The ChiRunning Book sits on my Amazon Wish List, having yet to be purchased, and glad I haven’t. The DVD looks very intriguing, and I have always thought that you shouldn’t run on the heel of your foot – that it can lead to injury.

  40. I just ran my first 5k in about 10 years, and I’m really excited about running some longer trail races. I am trying to work up to a midfoot strike with some barefoot running each week, but I really have no idea what I’m doing. As soon as I put my shoes back on, I revert back to heel striking. (Just mistyped that as “hell striking”!) I’d like to learn more about this method, despite it’s kitschy name. :)

  41. I started running last fall, and now that I am finally up to going more than a couple of miles per run I am definitely taking notice of my stride and posture. The DVD would really help me visualize what I should [try to] look like to help me in my running style to keep increasing my distances and take on my first 1/2 marathon in 6 months!

    I recently finished Born to Run and loved it, but it’s hard to try and incorporate a new running technique when I’ve never been able to see it for myself!

  42. Perry Stock says:

    Like yourself I first ‘read’ the book, read ‘read’ as darting between the stuff that actually involved the mechanics of running. The book isn’t bad, it’s just that I’m not a very spiritual person but I do love the idea of an effortless (less exhausting) way of running. At the time, (sounds long, just this time last year) I had only been running for about 3 months) I had awful shin splints and couldn’t run further than 5 miles.

    Now, I’m still no expert, nor advanced in my running technique, but I have adopted the lean and try to imagine having ‘no’ lower legs when I run. Amazingly this had sent my shin splints packing, I regularly run 35miles a week and my long runs (occasional ones) are anything from 20 to 30 miles. Recovery time is minimal and I haven’t suffered any injuries.

    I would like to incorporate more of the chi running technique, a video would make it much easier to understand.

  43. Dragonflyrunner says:

    I am trying to modify my stride to do the midfoot strike instead of the heel strike. I even bought Newtons but i still think I strike with my heel. I would love this dvd to help me improve my stride and get faster.

  44. I got the book from the library a while ago but never even found the time to read it. (I did open it though) I would love to win the dvd it seems the only time I have to watch movies is while on the treadmill so I guess I could kill two birds with one stone with this one!

  45. I’ve been singing the joys of ChiRunning since the clinic I reviewed last year. It really does make a difference. Glad you drank the Kool-Aid, too, Matt. :)

  46. I wanted nothing more than to find the holy grail in reading ChiRunning, but only made it to about page 40 before I just couldn’t take it any more! It was so incredibly boring. I’ve tried to encourage myself to check it out again, but ever time I’m in the library I just can’t bring myself to do it! I’d love to watch the dvd and see if I can actually learn and implement the techniques as I also hear they are supposed to be life changing! And hey, maybe it will be something to inspire me to lace up my running shoes again since it’s been a few months now…

  47. elishevat says:

    After 2 very large and healthy babies, were brought into the world and now our third is on the way I’m very much on the hunt for a new innovative routine after this birth. Its a family thing we do.:-) I am partial to books vs dvds and instructional videosso I may get the book first. Thanks for this post.:-)

  48. While training for my first 1/2 marathon I picked up the chi running book, and like you, couldn’t get through the whole thing. But, after a not so stellar performance during the above mentioned race, I really feel like I could use the dvd. Even if it is slow, I think I would benefit from seeing a person in action.

    Thanks.

  49. Please choice me! I have also read a portion of the book – due to other activities and maybe the book not being so interesting at the beginning, I haven’t finished it! I soooo want this DVD so that I can improve my form so that my knee will stop hurting during and after my runs and so that maybe just maybe I can place in all of the races I am in this summer!

  50. I just put the book on hold at the library as per someone’s suggestion. Hope I don’t find it mind-numbing though… that would not be cool.

  51. I got the book and took a seminar on Chi Running. I am a convert to say the least and my time has improved with no effort in that area on my part. I would love the DVD for reviewing the principles occasionally!

  52. Liz Koehl says:

    Great blog. Very direct and honest which I appreciate. I’ve wanted to learn this method for a while now, however being a do-it-yourselfer, I have tried to perfect my own form with just using minimal shoes and being conscience of my form. I injured myself last year as a beginner runner, but was able to run my first ever 10k a month ago. I am contemplating a half marathon. I am now thinking this dvd and a good training program is a must!

  53. Applecheeks101 says:

    I just got the book, but think the DVD would be a great help. (I agree that it would be much better to see the actual motion of the DVD than just seeing pics on a flat page) I have been running for just about 1 year, as soon as I signed up for my first half, I got shin splints. Ouchie. Thus I ordered the book. :)

  54. Picked up the book because a coworker said it was good stuff. Couldn’t get through reading it. Got the DVD and it helped bring everything together, and I read the book successfully on the second try. I would love to watch the DVD again but I lent it to an Army buddy a year ago who asked if he could borrow it again last week. Uh… I guess this means he lost it.

  55. Diane C says:

    I have also tried to get through the Chi Running book without much luck. My running is pretty form-less and need to dramatically improve. Thanks for the great review.

  56. Michelle says:

    Like others, I own the book but haven’t read more than the first few chapters. I agree with the principle – especially as a “forefoot” runner, but really need to SEE it to understand. I bought Newtons last year, intending to use the Chi Running principles and new shoes to start (italics) really running . . . haven’t gotten there yet. Would love to move beyond the 5K distance and run our local claim-to-fame, “Grandma’s Marathon” next year. As long as I’m starting fresh, maybe I’ll join my brother and go meatless, too.

  57. I first purchased the book about 4 years ago when I was injured yet again. I have incorporated some of the techniques such as the forward lean and had fewer injuries. It was only when I used the techniques and switched to minimalist shoes that it all made sense. Just completed the second triathlon of the season and using the lean to slow or quicken my pace is probably the most valuable piece of info for me.
    Would love to see the DVD as it is much easier for me to see how something is done rather than just read about it.

  58. Anna Bouchard says:

    I found this blog fairly recently (2 months ago) and only a month ago invested and got myself a pair of Newtons.. Love the idea of natural running but I feel I need a lot of help.. While I tried to read the book, I found it very dry and hard to focus on… Still have it sitting on my night stand where I left it two years ago.. I would love to give video a try to see if that in conjunction with my new shoes and my hard work could change my form on my daily runs.

  59. I’d LOVE to win this! I’m always looking for ways to tweak my running style. Love the blog!

  60. Rivagayl says:

    I have been running for a year, tried the book but also found it hard to visualize. I have looked at the you tube videos and try to incorporate Chi running into my technique, but I know having the DVD to watch would make all the difference for me.

  61. I want to like running, I really do. But I find it so uncomfortable compared to biking, swimming and hiking. Enter Chi Running. I looked into a seminar, but it was pretty expensive. The DVD might be just the thing to set me on the right track to pain-free running. Thanks for the contest.

  62. I haven’t read the book, but a couple weeks ago at a group “run” I found myself going up a hill with a 33% grade and the person I was powerhiking up with started talking to me about using the Chi running technique on hills and I’ve been giving it a go – I’m not sure I’m doing it right, but it definitely feels different! A lot different than my normal hill attack mojo. I’d love to see the DVD to learn more!

  63. What does it say about me that this is my favorite line in this post?!
    “First, the production and music were cheesy. Chi-sy, perhaps? (Sorry. Now that is cheesy.)”

    Thanks, Matt, for delivering information with a smile on top!

  64. Jon Weisblatt says:

    Hey Matt,
    I’ve been a big Chirunning believer since I got his first edition book back in ’04 or ’05. I really liked the book right away. My wife and I took a 2 day class with Danny back in ’05 (in hindsight now I realize he was just getting it out there for people)and are taking the week long class with him in August in NY at the Omega Institute. As a physical therapist, I’ve helped quite a few friends and patients with their running by introducing them to the Chirunning techniques (I am not a certified Chirunning instructor but have thought about it for a while). It’s gentle, like Tai Chi, so you don’t have to be a gym rat to enjoy it. I guess it’s the anti-crossfit. I have the first edition DVD and would love the newer edition DVD. I agree that once you see video or attend it live it all comes together easier than just reading the book, but then again aren’t most things easier to understand when there’s more than just one of the sense absorbing information?
    I am not a fast runner anymore but Chirunning is not about increasing speed right away and it is definitely more than just about forward lean. His hill running technique and use of the metronome for foot turnover saved my achilles. I hope you you ge the chance to go to one of his classes and meet him.

  65. Monica T says:

    I started reading the book for the library, but had to return it b/c someone else wanted to read it. The nerve! I need to improve my running style seeing how my urban adventure race training partner & best friend told me I looked awkward when I ran with her the 1st time. And I’m sure she’s right. I really hurt the next day. I’m not much of a runner, but believe the Chi Running method will help me with my mechanics. Thanks for the review of the DVD. If I don’t win (wish I better) I may need to invest in it.
    Peace & Wellness, Monica

  66. Susan Dusoe says:

    I am just learning about Chi running and looks so interesting. I am a runner but noticed need help with my form. I am person that learns by watching. Thanks.

  67. Jessica says:

    I recently read the book and have slowly been attempting some of the Chirunning techniques. For me it feels like it has been slow going. I get some of the concepts but would love to see what they actually look like. I have been hoping to got to one of the classes but I would settle for the DVD, considering we don’t have many Chirunnung gurus near where I live.

  68. Anthony says:

    I agree with your assessment of the book. It is a very technical read and it is not easy to pick up on Chi running this way. I expect the DVD is much more helpful.

  69. Milena Pointer says:

    I started running in my vibrams five fingers and that’s when I first heard about the lean forward deal. Later, I read an article about caveman bootcamp or whatever and Erwan Le Corre preaches the same ” run as if you are about to fall, don’t use your heels.” Well, I jut don’t get it! I tried the whole lean forward thing and apparently am not doing it right, what resulted in my first injury while running my first 5K! Very discouraging for someone whose goal is to run an ultramarathon.
    It seems like the Chi running DVD could be helpful for a beginner like me. I hope I win it, otherwise I will have to convince my husband that I need another running book ( or DVD ). The only book he didn’t argue about was the Half Marathon Roadmap. I told him there was a half marathon book for vegan runners and he thought it was written for me :)

  70. Ariela Myers says:

    Agreed on almost all points. Don’t like the presentation, but gained a lot by learning to take the weight off of my shins, ankles, and feet, and move to a shorter, lighter stride. No shin splints whatsoever since then! I borrowed the book from a co-worker last year before I ran my first half-marathon, and a lot of it seemed like a load of pseudo-medical, pretentious, faux-enlightened hooey to me. There is some misguided and literally inaccurate information about anatomy and the way the body is balanced, which lost the book/method a lot of credibility points with me. Plus, where was all this “Chi” that I was supposed to learn about? But, as with all things, you can take what you like and throw the rest out. I don’t feel like it’s the be-all end-all of running, but there are some good things to be gained from it if you’re open.

    By the way, I love your blog! Boyfriend loves the t-shirts and has even cut out red meat from his diet this last month!

  71. This sounds very interesting. I’m always trying to improve my running form which is easier said than done when you are out there huffing and puffing away. I would love to give ChiRunning a chance.

  72. Sarah Jane says:

    I read the book, but you are right, it was hard to get through. I really tried to implement the postural changes, but was unable to really nail it until I started a series of rolfing massages (torture, but worked miracles). I am pretty clear on the injury front, but I can’t be sure if it is the rolfing or the Chi!

  73. Kelly J says:

    Have the book, and tried to incorporate some of the Chi running methodology into my running. It would be much easier to do with the DVD. Hope to win it.

  74. I am trying to get myself not to heelstrike when running. This DVD would be really helpful to be able to visualize the foreward lean. I think I have benn doing that, but I would like to see the proper technique.

  75. Brandon Talbott says:

    While I’m by no stretch of the imagination a no meat athlete (I run meat markets, for crying out loud!), I am an avid student of running for and anything that might help. At 6’4″ 260lbs, I’m no exactly a typical runner either, but I have run half marathons, a marathon, and am getting into triathlons. The same hodge podge style of incorporating techniques from various schools of thought has kept me injury free for my 3+ yearsoif running. Thanks for the candid feedback on this DVD!

  76. Hmmm interesting stuff this chi-running. I tried to get through the book also and could not. Maybe the DVD will be much better!

  77. ChiRunning has allowed me to continue to run! Following Danny’s ChiRunning changed my posture and eliminated my aches and pains. And all this from his book alone! I would love the chance to improve even more by viewing the DVD, and use it to introduce ChiRunning to my daughter.

  78. I find it challenging to focus on keeping my core engaged while keeping the rest of my upper body generally relaxed (loose hands, unclenched jaw, etc.). I wonder if the Chi Running method DVD helps demonstrate how to balance this, because I don’t seem to have as much trouble when I lean slightly forward. Running my first ultra in a few weeks and would love the DVD as a last minute source of advice for a pain-free finish! :)

  79. This sounds like it would be perfect for those days that are super hard to get out there and then super hard on the run. I think anyone could really benefit from this.

  80. I’m so glad to hear they came out with a DVD. I tried to read the book and couldn’t get into it either! I played volleyball in college and my knees bother me if I do too much. The “pain and injury free” aspect of Chi Running caught my eye. I think I will look at it again! :) Thanks for the info!

  81. I keep hearing about chi-running and the barefoot movement as the biggest things in running these days. Seems to make a lot of sense and would love to see the video and learn more about chi-running.

    Thanks!

  82. Thanks for the tips Matt. I also tried to read the book unsuccessfully even after a recommendation from my trainer. Look forward to watching the DVD in action – hopefully winning a copy from you. Keep up the great work! Yours is the one email I actually look for in my inbox.

  83. Hi Matt, Thanks for the giveaway.
    I’ve heard about Chi Running, and there have been some seminars in my area, but I just couldn’t afford it. I tend to learn by Online Research, i.e. reading blogs like yours, Competitor.com, RunnersWorld, etc., other runners (experience has a lot of value)and running/training books.
    I believe that it’s a good idea to read and learn as much as you can from various sources you can take the parts that you deem most important and relevant to you and your goals.
    I would love to win the Chi DVD so I can add something new to my training knowledge.

  84. Lori Tedesco says:

    This made me giggle, and yet I am intrigued. Until I read the ChiRunning book, I couldn’t run for crap. I can never get to a seminar, though (and maybe that’s good, I don’t want to end up on a video)… but the technique has kept me running injury-free after a horrible stress fracture in January. I can’t sing enough praises.

  85. Whitney says:

    Skeptics unite! I, too, lacked the gusto to get through ChiRunning, but am really interested in the philosophy. I changed my stride a bit after reading Born to Run and it TOTALLY changed the way I run. I’d be delighted to win the DVD and learn some more! (I had to phrase it that way because you asked your readers not to tell you to “Enter me”, which I think would be wholly inappropriate coming from your female readers anyway. I REALLY hope you find that funny and not offensive as it’s meant to be the former!) :)

  86. New to distance running and I’m having a heck of a time getting to any mid-distances (is 12 mi. considered a “mid-distance?) without pain in my heals. I keep getting discouraged from trying new things while training for my first marathon. Questioning where to turn next. This would be an interesting starting point.

  87. I will agree with a great many of the other posters that I have heard and been recommended Chi running but have not explored it in depth. Form and technique are the two essential things I have trying to work on in my barefoot/minimalist running journey, and a lot of the same principles Chi running teaches seem to appear naturally when moving to more minimal foot attire. It is the of form and technique that will, I am sure, be a life long process.

  88. I am currently trying to recover from a stress fracture and dying to get back into the swing of things. I have read the book and felt that something was missing. During my first 50k I spoke with five or six experienced ultra runners who claim although past their prime they are still running because of this technique/system. When I heard that I just had to try it. 3 months later I am still trying to figure it out.

  89. I have some DVDs on Tai Chi that I find really hard to follow because the you have to move your body away from the screen and my memory isn’t good enough to watch 28+ moves while sitting and then be able to execute them with my own body, but I get the feeling from your review that the Chi Running DVD boils down to a few easy to remember principles (that’s my hope anyway), as long as it has a reasonable run-time (no pun intended). I’ve been in the cheer section lately due to injury, but can’t wait to start hittin’ the pavement again. This and some good strength training would really serve me well I think. Thanks for the opportunity!

  90. A few years ago I read & I loved the ChiRunning book! I loved it so much I lent it to another runner who has never given it back (I guess she loved it as well!) :( I’m now living in another state and that book has been on my list for a while, BUT…since you liked the DVD so much better than the book, I VERY curious to see it! I’m coming back to the principles of Chi Running after having gotten a bad heel spur that has stopped me in my tracks. I could really use the help :)

    P.S. I <3 the newsletter!

  91. Rachel C says:

    I have been wanting to try the Chi Running DVD for a while, I’m 24 and I’ve been injured too many times!

  92. I have read the book, pretty good book by the way. I have really been trying to work on my form since attending a good form class. I would really love to have the dvd to help me further visualize all the steps involved.

  93. Bob NUtting says:

    Read the book met Danny ot the BAA expo. Need more assurance that I understand what I read.

  94. I am a fan of Chi running. I have gone to a gateway running shoe as I practice the principles of chi running. Running in a lower heeled running shoe with less structure is very freeing. I have been injury free for a long time since I read Chi Running. I am comptemplating going to a certified Chi running trainer. The DVD would be very helpful.

  95. I felt the same way about the book. I was hoping for the lightning bolt, but just couldn’t get through the maze of advice. I did garner some tips and hope to revisit it at some point. Maybe the DVD is the way to go. Living up here in Maine I know the chance of going to a clinic is remote at best.

  96. I always try to watch “good runners” and Try to copy what they do, but I tend to get an awkward look because I am staring at them. I love the Chi principles and would love to get a closer look in the privacy of my own hOme!

  97. Would love the DVD — same experience yawning through the book. Been working a lot on “natural” running form, transitioning to zero-drop shoes, etc., so this would be great!

  98. Matt, I’ll throw a comment in for a chance at the DVD. I bought the Chi Running book, and like you, had trouble getting through it. It really is a good technique, but what I’ve done is scan through sections that have a lot of the key details. So I’ve sort of partially implemented it and it is improving my running and seems to be helping my perpetually achy right knee. I would be nice to learn with the CD.

  99. I actually had the same experience with the book. I tried several times to get past 50 or 60 pages, but I just couldn’t get motivated. I was actually searching for anything to help with a bad case of Achilles bursitis that I got while running (read: heal-planting). Anyways, I’d love giving this a second shot, as well!

  100. Matt,

    I’m new to your blog and I love it! What a great read today, just what I needed. I’ve done one marathon and a few half-marathons here and there, I’ve been ‘playing’ with running for quite sometime. This review of the ChiRunning DVD really got me thinking about *HOW* I run. The answer: I have no idea! I’m ready to look into it…this DVD sounds like a great place to start.

    THANKS FOR SHARING!!

  101. I’ve been following your blog for well over a year and enjoy reading about your experiences and recommendations. I’m always looking to improve my efficiency at running and believe I could gain some useful information from the ChiRunning DVD. Please enter me in the drawing. Thanks!

  102. I too found the book pretty dry. In fact, I read it at night and it helped me fall asleep. His writing was fatiguing to read. That said, there are some things in that I find useful, and I’m sure it’d be easier to grasp with the dvd!

  103. Adrian chesters says:

    Would love to win the DVD as I live in Malaysia and it is impossible to get courses or dvd’s. All I have is those static pictures to go by

  104. It would be interesting to see the DVD. I, too, read the book and try as I did to read through it before trying the method (as Dreyer recommends), I had to jump ahead and just try the method. Several people that I run with love Chi running so I get some reinforcement on the principles through them. I also think that a Chi running class would be the way to go.

  105. I read the book but I’m never really sure if I have the proper. I would love to win the DVD and have a more visual guide.

  106. I also read the book and had a hard time visualizing the technique. I am a vegetarian runner who is pretty set in my ways, but I think this Chi Running could help me as I get older (and begin to suffer some injuries).

    GREAT blog – so glad I discovered it!

  107. Ramona Petto says:

    I have started trail running after a foot injury from road running. I over pronate and would love some advice…

  108. Paul Shultz says:

    Dear matt, your mention of this must be what I’m waiting for could well be true. I’ve never done much in relation to a movement. I run in five fingers and flats because it’s comfortable. Maybe I should look into this movement?

  109. Connie Fields says:

    Would love to try the Chi-running technique, but I’m a look and learn not a reader, So the DVD is a great idea!

  110. The “Chi-sy” comment made me laugh out loud!

    I got my running gait analyzed a couple years ago at a local performance center and changed from heel strike to midfoot, and also increased my cadence. I’d be curious to see what else Chi Running has to offer aside from what I learned at my gait analysis. I get injured a lot so am always on the hunt for better ways to run!

  111. Sally Aston says:

    I have the book, a very useful tool. Would love the DVD as I’m a visual person :-)

  112. Reading the book and trying to figure out the technique from the pics sucked. DVD would rock :)

  113. I read about the concept of leaning forward from the ankles (I think in 4-Hour Body?), but I haven’t been quite able to work it out. I’d love to see video of it in action.

  114. “Lean Forward” became my mantra at running camp two years ago, when it took seeing myself on video to notice I run like there is a straight rod through my back! The easiest thing to do is act like someone is pushing at your back, but it creates the hip tendency rather than from the ankle up. It needs to be a fluid change to your stance rather than focused on one area of the body.

  115. I was on my library waiting list for this DVD for over one year!!! Ohhh I’d love to have my own copy for reference.

    Score one for Danny Dreyer

  116. I was looking at my race pictures from this past weekend’s 1/2 marathon. I could definitely use some help with my form!

  117. I just finished reading the ChiRunning book in preparation for an upcoming 4 day workshop in July. I like the concept of running being a practice, as in yoga – each outing a chance to improve my form and ability to stay present.

  118. I just did the DC Triathlon on Sunday and I can’t believe how bad my running form got by the end of the race – the official race photos show my heel practically digging into the asphalt towards the end of the race! Maybe seeing a video of proper form could help ingrain it in my head so my next race finish won’t be quite so ugly!

  119. Cool! A DVD would be helpful for me. I learn athletically by watching and imitating movement, hard to get from pictures in a book. I’ve heard of the lean forward model, and find that helpful, when I remember. :)

  120. Jennifer says:

    I have just started running with minimalist shoes (Merrell pace gloves). I am still in the beginning stages and working on getting my form consistently correct. Do you think Chi Running lends itself easily to running in the minimalist shoes?
    Thanks for the review and the giveaway.

    • Jon Weisblatt says:

      Hi Jen,
      Danny Dreyer is a big proponent of minimalist shoes, with the idea we don’t get “stupid feet” by having too much cushioning under our feet when we walk/run because our feet don’t feel the ground. I know the question was for Matt but I hope it’s ok I tried to answer it as well.
      Jon

  121. Your blog is a great resource, thanks for all you do. I think Chi running might be a solution to my problem and would like the chance to see the DVD. Thanks for the contest.

  122. I can certainly use help with my form- too many injuries! Thanks!

  123. Hi Matt! I am really enjoying your Marathon Roadmap. I am reading it simultaneously alongside Thrive by Brendan Brazier. Clearly I am trying to soak up all the information I can before I begin marathon training in September. I believe watching this video could only enhance my future training runs.

    I hope you are doing well!

  124. Hey Matt!
    I would like to see this DVD. I had the same experience as you with the book, and was quite skeptical of trying to force the “chi” into running form, but after watching the Evolution Running video, and reading the Pose Method, I’m hoping actually seeing the video for Chi Running would make a lot more sense.
    Consider me entered!

  125. kathie rose says:

    I injured my achilles tendon last year while training for the LA Marathon. Turned out I had retrocalcaneal bursitis which had to be aspirated and I was in a boot for about a month on and off. Started running again this year and someone showed me how to lean forward and keep my knees high to run. Not only am I faster, but my heel doesn’t hurt because I’m not landing on it…that is, when I’m thinking about what I’m doing. I would love to win the DVD and really learn the technique. Kepp up the good work Matt – I’m headed toward be a vegetarian because of you.

  126. I bought the book last week, and my experience is the same as you described..I fell asleep. I chalked it up to my lack of technique and the new language being presented. I pronate my right foot and was anxious to get started on this technique so I could actually run without pain or injury. I went to the local book store and they do not sell DVD’s. I found the DVD’s very expensive online regarding the book being a good sedative, spending a large amount of money on the DVD to go to sleep seemed steep. I checked the website to see if there were any coaches close by to show me the real stuff. No luck. I would really like to give the DVD a try and maybe the visual learner in me would be awake for the job. Thank you
    Brenda

  127. I would love to see this DVD! Each time I run I try to concentrate on taking 180 steps/min…sadly I don’t think I’m there yet! Very interesting philosophy on leaning forward!

  128. Hi Matt!
    I was very excited to see this post this morning. I also purchased the book a couple years ago, and couldn’t get through it. As what I consider still a pretty new runner, I’m looking for all the tips and techniques I can learn to become a better runner, so I’d love to be entered to win the DVD!
    Thanks,
    Crissie

  129. This sounds really interesting as I try to make it through my first marathon training injury free! (it’s hard.) :)

  130. I am a beginning runner, and my friend Darcy, who is a fitness instructor (and a runner) at my YMCA, just started a beginning runners group. We had our first meeting there, and she had a certified Chi running instructor come talk to us at our first meeting! I thought it sounded amazing, and I’m anxious to start running off with good techniques!

  131. Ryan Wachter says:

    While the DVD intro might not be motivating this post was. I’d love to see this DVD. I do incorporate many of these techniques. Although I start with butterflies in my hands and always end up giving thumbs up. :)

  132. I’ve been interested in this for awhile but haven’t done anything towards it. Maybe I’ll win the DVD and become a convert. =)

  133. Elizabeth Eaton says:

    I tried reading the book, but couldn’t get through it either. I did try to incorporate some of the POSE method techniques, specifically the leaning. I believe it helped a bit. I’d love to check out the dvd.

  134. I am curious about chi running. This was a helpful review to read because I don’t know much about the method. I did learn the lean forward technique at a Newton seminar. It’s a good tip but sadly Newtons aren’t for me. I’d love to win a copy of this DVD – so good luck to me.

  135. I read Chi Running about 2 years ago after coming off of a series of injuries. I have to agree that the book was boring and not very helpful, however, I definitely gleaned some nuggets from it. Since then, I’ve been doing what I sort of consider Chi Running and running barefoot a bit too. Unfortunately, I still find myself injured far too frequently. Maybe the DVD would firm up some things for me? I need to figures something out soon because I’m about one more injury away from retiring from running :(

  136. Your comments have inspired me to want to watch the DVD. I’ve read the book and have been trying to find a chiRunning class in my area, but no luck!

    I feel as though I have most of the technique down except for the lean, and I’ve just injured myself with ITBS, so I expect I’m just not leaning properly.

    Really enjoy the blog, love the attitude of always learning more and being inspired by others. Keep it up!

  137. I wanted to attend this seminar on chi running, but I missed it! Hopefully, if I win this, I can make up whatever I missed.

    By the way, I really do enjoy your blog.

  138. I am a chi runner. I made a video and posted it on You Tube about chi runners who are trying to learn how to run like Danny Dreyer without watching the video. Until you watch the video, it is hard to grasp the concept of how this should look and feel. Most people bend at the waist and lean forward at the waist, resulting in sore back muscles and awkward running form. If you get a chance, check out my video by searching for “I am a chi runner” or click on this link:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDWTUePS2iY

    There was a good article in this month’s runner’s world about running form, even mentions Danny Dreyer. Then it talks about elite runners who have tried to change their form and the problems they have had. No matter who you are, if you are going to change your form, whether it is running, or another sport, you have to cut way back on distance or you will risk injury. Changing form means scaling back and slowing down, implementing the changes slowly, until they become natural, and then after changes are in place, building up mileage again. I think a lot of people want to skip that part, but it is very important.

  139. I’ve been using the basic principles of Chi Running since Susan’s post on the book and clinic (so funny as always and super helpful). My running buddy who was out with an injury for over 6 months saw the difference when he was able to rejoin me on the trails. So I’ve made progress and been injury free. Still have room for improvement for sure. The discussion with my wife (also a runner) of the benefits is ongoing. She sees the guys winning the races crossing the line with huge long strides and feels there must be a good reason why they are striding out and winning. I’m not likely to win a race with any running method but do wonder about her point. Perhaps the video would provide some additional clarity?

  140. I met a Chi running enthusiast at the local running club’s stride clinic, she tried to teach me the techniques in about 5 minutes. All I got was “okay, now you’re sticking your butt out funny.” Guess I never did get the hang of the level pelvis. She’s in her 70s and runs like the wind, swearing by Chi running (lots of time on her feet, but little time actually ON her feet due to the techniques) – I’d love to be like her one day!

  141. Courtney says:

    I heard about this method back when Susan went to the running clinic. I watched some Internet videos on it (probably from YouTube) and thought that the method looked interested. Now my husband is getting into running & is experiencing knee soreness. I’d love for him to be able to improve his form & possibly prevent injury.

  142. I’ve read a book on the Pose Method, and have personally incorporated some of what I learned there – I’d be interested to watch the Chi DVD and see what else I can learn and use.

  143. Jason Smith says:

    I agree with your opinions regarding the book, but I still managed to make it through the material. I looked into the clinic thing but that is quite expensive! If I don’t win it, I’ll probably just end up buying the DVD.

  144. Kent Cowgill says:

    Thanks for offering to give this away! I’ve been interested in a while, but never taken steps (haha, get it?) to find out more.

  145. Enter me pleeeease! :D

    I always think that leaning from the waist isn’t leaning, it’s bending over. Leaning from your ankles is more like the Tower of Pisa.

    A mantra I find useful to go along with Chi Running is “light as a feather, loose as a goose” — which I totally stole from a comment on Lululemon’s Facebook page a few months ago. :)

  146. Hey Matt, thanks for this info on chirunning. I’ve looked into it some, but never took the plunge to buy the dvd or book.

    PS. I really enjoy your website, especially the black bean brownie recipe and the vegan flatbread recipe. Those are two of my favorites so far. Thanks so much for the info you and your crew supplies to the vegan/vegetarian running community!

  147. Hey Matt,

    I’ve been wanting this DVD for years now. I have the pose running DVD and that one sucks, it’s not so much the information as the presentation watching it is unbearable. I’d love a chance to win this thing to help me improve my form. There’s nothing like seeing it in action over and over again to really learn it. By the way this predates the barefoot running movement which I personally this is silly. By the way as an FYI our greatest vegan athlete ( Scott jurek) :) later dude.

    Mark

  148. I am so intrigued by this book! I am always looking for ways to improve my speed while remaining injury free!

  149. I keep getting injured when running and would love to learn some techniques to run with better form. I can actually feel my right foot wanting to turn out when I run (curse of being a former dancer?). Please enter me in your DVD giveaway :)

  150. I discovered the Chi Running concept via the book earlier this year. What a great read and guide! I feel like I’ve had some of these concepts in practice already, but am working on applying all lessons. And now (through liking Chi Running on FB), I discover your blog. Excellent! Well, I’m adding you to my RSS reader to keep current, but would also love to win the DVD. Keep up the good work.

  151. I cut 1+ minute per mile by implementing POSE method (mostly by the increased turnover rate) and did it with ease by leaning forward at the ankle. Please enter me in the giveaway as I would like to see if ChiRunning can help me get even more strength and speed, injury free.

    Your review is so blisteringly honest I bet ChiRunning is thrilled with you!

  152. Heather says:

    I’ve incorporated your higher turnover running technique. I’m basically a brand new runner, but I have my sights set on a half marathon and I would love to learn to run without injury from the start. I have your half marathon roadmap, too!

  153. I have heard many good things about this book/method. As soon as I finish Pre I should give it a shot!

  154. I absolutely love chi running. I have watched the DVD and many of Danny Dreyer’s You Tube videos, which feature helpful tips that further my understanding of good posture. I still have a lot of problems keeping chi-running a consistent part of my runs. I find it’s very easy for me to go back to bad habits.

    Also I have some injuries which sadly aren’t going to just disappear by practicing good form. That said, chi running really is my only hope as I strive for easy, pain-free running.

  155. I have the book, too, and while I know it will probably help my nagging knee tendinitis, I can’t seem to figure it all out! The DVD would be great! Thanks for the offer!!

  156. I had a brief intro to chi running by someone who practiced the technique and tried it for a few weeks but ended up getting some aches and pains. The balls of my feet and shins started to hurt. I’m not sure if I was doing it wrong or it was just coincidence but I’d be interested in really learning how to do it right.

  157. RunnerBrett says:

    Matt,

    I am a Chi Running fanatic. It changed everything about the way I run. BUT, I didn’t know there was a DVD.

    I got the audio book and loaded it onto my mp3 player. The audio book had me do some simple exercises while I listened.

    I did the drills and then practiced them each time I ran. At times the changes were awkward but I kept at it.

    After about 3 months it all started coming together. I stopped heel striking, I have almost no up and down when I run and my feet are almost silent. It’s very cool when I run with someone, I tell them to listen to their shoes hitting the ground; then I tell them to listen to mine. They say, WOW! I say, that’s Chi Running.

    Because I don’t heel strike I avoid injury.
    Because I have almost no up and down I run more efficiently.

    Matt, I want the DVD so I can go through Chi again and see it from another ankle (just kidding) from another angle!

    Thanks Matt

  158. I had a different experience and feel like I got a lot out of the book. But I would love a chance at the DVD too, because I think seeing a lot of the form stuff on the moving screen would be even more helpful.

  159. I’m reading Chi Running right now, and I find it informative and somewhat interesting, because most of the info is new to me. I’d recommend it to any new runner because it does summarize the basic principles of running form. As for the writing, I haven’t read too many books on running, but it seems unsurprising to me that it would be dry reading, particularly if you are already familiar with the concepts. Born to Run was highly entertaining but it was largely a narrative, more inspiring than instructive. Once you get down to the mechanics you’re bound to end up yawning a bit. I imagine the DVD would be instrumental in illustrating the ideas in the book. It’s too bad the book doesn’t actually come with a DVD.

  160. I love your candid approach reviewing the book and DVD. I’ve thought about getting the book, but now know I’d be better off with the DVD. I’ve tried to apply some of the key principles you outlined but I think I need a little more help to have my running cone together in this Chi-sy way. ;) I look forward to learning more.

    Cheers!
    Ru

  161. I have heard of Chi running and know a bit about it. I have been interested to learn more, but not enough to seek it out. Perhaps if it came to me……..

  162. Catherine says:

    I bought the book and am trying to learn how! I would love the dvd because very few people here in South Africa have heard of Chi running, and it would be an easier way to spread the word and get my friends along on the ride with me.

  163. As a coach for the Team In Training marathon and hike programs, I see each season take it’s toll on a handful of (marathon) hopefuls despite our best efforts to educate on good running form. I have the book, but like you, I need the visual and I would like to LEARN. Not just for myself, but for sharing the gift of injury free running with all the participants raising $ for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society through TNT. Often times these are not seasoned runners, so they can certainly use all the help they can get as they meet new physical achievements week after week!

  164. Form is the thing I always forget to think about; mine probably isn’t great. It hasn’t really been a problem for me yet because I don’t run very long distances by most people’s standards, and I don’t train super intensely, but it would probably be a good thing to fix before my bad habits get even more ingrained than they already are.

  165. I read through the book, but agree, it was kind of a struggle. I did really like the principle’s though and did incorporate some to my running. The DVD would be great!

    Thanks!

  166. I’ve had the ChiRunning book sitting on my nightstand for almost 2 years now … I started it with good intentions but like Matt I found it really dull to get through. I still harbor fantasies of some day getting past the second chapter and becoming a light injury-free runner.

    So I think the DVD might be what I need!

  167. For the last three months or so I have tried adopting this technique. I went to a clinique at a local running shop. I think the video would help a lot going forward to keep in fresh in my mind. I thought I had it pretty good as my knees ache way less to not at all since switching over.

    Interestingly, about 7 weeks ago I switched to a more minimal shoe and instantly (from the very first run) my calves went crazy, sore and tight after every run. I think this may be the first week that they aren’t giving me fits. Not sure if it is a form thing or the minimal shoe is just enabling me to do more of a forefoot strike when I should still be mid-foot, but either way I think I need to review it all again. Thanks.

  168. I have only heard of this by name, but I haven’t had a chance to research it. I’d be very interested in this DVD so that I may give it a shot. I don’t have much in the way of running form (wasn’t really formally taught… still consider myself a newbie, as I’ve only been running for approximately 1.5 years or so), so it would be nice to have something to work on other than time and distance.

  169. AUDREY SPARKS says:

    Well, this is all new to me. I’ve never been a runner or so I thouht until about 5 weeks ago. Inspired by my best friend of 26 years who has lost nearly 150lbs through eating better and exercise I decided to start running. My goal was to run a 5k by the end of the summer. I did a mini-triatholon last weekend. It was a 150meter swim, 10mile bike (which I did on my mountain bike) and finished with a 5k. My goal was to finish in 1hour and 45min. My final time was 1hour and 16min. I now have a new goal…a marathon by the end of the year. My longest run to date is 8.41 miles. I’m a runner and I never knew it. I train on my own and I’m always looking for that cool hint to make me a more efficient runner. This sounds like something I could really benefit from. Oh, forgot to mention I went to the vegan dark-side at the start of the year too.;) I feel amazing! I’m running this deal with or without this video. But I’m always willing to take some free help. Just a quick plug too. Your website has amazing information for everyone. Not just the non-meat folks. I’ve referred several people to it for added information on being a stronger and better athlete. No matter what, I’ll keep using this site to increase my athletic ability. Your good stuff! Thanks!!!! Aud.~

  170. Audra Johnson says:

    Back in high school, my track teammates & coach called me the “T-Rex”. As you conjure up the image of one running, you’ll understand why this is NOT a compliment. I’m much older now and my atrocious running form has contributed to many injuries and general malaise. Maybe CHI-ing it up and being aware of what good form looks like will allow me to go farther without any of the pain I’ve had in the past. PICK ME! PICK ME!

  171. i’d be interested in watching this. i found the book to be a major snore and i admit i couldn’t finish the whole thing.

  172. hi matt! nice to ‘meat’ you…please don’t hold that against me :). your post caught my eye and i just wanted to say thanks for the review on chi-running. i just graduated college and had hopes of racing at a higher, post-collegiate level until i got a stress fracture in my inferior pubic ramus bone…what? yes, exactly what i thought! it’s been a long, tough road but i have learned along the way. i really believe biomechanics played a large part in my injury, in addition to diet and training. as i am slowly (but surely!) returning to running, i have looked into finding my ‘chi’ to help the process along. the dvd would be a great way to get started!

    jackie

  173. hi matt! nice to ‘meat’ you…please don’t hold that against me :). your post caught my eye and i just wanted to say thanks for the review on chi-running. i just graduated college and had hopes of racing at a higher, post-collegiate level until i got a stress fracture in my inferior pubic ramus bone…what? yes, exactly what i thought! it’s been a long, tough road but i have learned along the way. i really believe biomechanics played a large part in my injury, in addition to diet and training. as i am slowly (but surely!) returning to running, i have looked into finding my ‘chi’ to help the process along. the dvd would be a great way to get started!

  174. Stephanie says:

    I have had great success with Chi Running clinics & the book. I improved speed & overall running comfort. The exercises & drills were great – I especially found the drills w/the metronome to improve leg turnover to be extremely helpful.

    I would love to have a copy of the DVD as a refresher course! Please pick me!

  175. I’ve heard about Chi Runnning before and thought it was an interesting approach to improve one’s running. I’d love to have the DVD and learn more about it. I’ve noticed that ever since I’ve changed my foot strike to a mid foot one, my injuries have been few and far between. Last summer I had an injury that kept me from running a good three months. I was miserable. With just that one little change in my running form, it made a world of difference.

  176. I too have heard a lot about chi running (as well as the POSE method), but have never tried them. Maybe it’s because I’m stubborn (sometimes a good quality for a runner to have), but whenever I try a new training plan or method, I find myself modifying (or “personalizing”) it to incorporate things that I know have worked for me in the past (this is probably also known as cheating). As an RRCA certified coach, I even find myself doing that with bits of their programs that I don’t agree with.

    Be interesting to learn more about the chi method though. One of these days I should go 100% into one specific program just to see what happens.

  177. I’ve been hearing a lot about Chi Running, and I’ve also been told that my running form leaves a lot to be desired. But I’m training for a marathon, and don’t want to try and change things up without some sort of professional help. I think this DVD is exactly what I need!

  178. Nathaniel says:

    I’ve heard about Chi running and have always wondered what it is all about. It sounds very interesting and would love to try it. A DVD would be great to get me started. I have had issues with stress fractures and have wondered if it is due to my form.

  179. Just started my marathon training for Marine Corps Marathon… I kept meaning to get to one of Danny Dryers day clinics, but I keep missing them. I have read about Chi Running and keep trying to perfect my form, but not sure that I am. It is hard to visualize with just the pictures. If I don’t win it, I guess I need to invest in it!

    Matt, as always, thanks for a great blog. I appreciate how you are so open minded… paleo, Crossfit…. not many vegan/vegetarian blogs are as open minded as yours! Thanks

  180. Very interested in comparing Chi v Pose v Revolution v Natural running techs. All seem to be pretty similar. Could Chi lead to fewer injuries? Or just a sore chi:/

  181. Vincent Scully says:

    After 14 years of smoking cigarettes and drinking/eating way too much, I discovered the art of Muaythai, which led me to running (an extremely integral part of Muaythai training). My Kru told me about Born To Run, I couldn’t put it down! I now run about 3 miles a day, and climbing. Part of my run in Vibram 5 fingers and part totally barefoot. I have fallen in love with running! and if you told me i would say that a year ago, I would have laughed in your face (with cigarette breath). I would love to learn more about this style.

  182. Martha Arenas says:

    Hi Matt! I borrowed the chi running book and CD from my local library long ago (old edition). I found both of them very interesting and useful to me!
    Actually, if I hadnt grasp something about chi running, I wouldnt be still running with OA on both of my knees and after having surgery for a meniscal tear. I am still on the run because I try to do the chi way! I would really love to own that material… so, Please Matt enter me!!!

  183. Elyse Sokoloff says:

    Phew, I wasn’t the only one who couldn’t get though the book! I have heard good things about the method though and can’t wait to try it when I am finished with this pregnancy. Love the blog, btw. As a new vegetarian who will probably be vegan in a couple months, and runner who is flirting with the idea of entering a triathlon, I’m getting tons of useful information. Thanks!

  184. sharon williams says:

    I have been suffering with ITB after running a half marathon this spring. Did the entire training program with no issues then mile 11 during the race the right IT band went then the left and by the time I hit the finish line I was like the tin man from the wizard of oz. I have done PT, massage Therapy acupuncture, cupping and chiropractic. I am hesitant to do any more races in fear of being down for another few months with issues. I would LOVE to try anything that would correct my form and allow me to run injury free!

  185. My friend Shay, who is a runner, swears by this technique. Both of us are yoga teachers and she felt I would grasp the concepts easily. Her exact quote to me was, “I wish someone had book this book in my hand before I started running.” I am a total newbie. I just got ChiWalking. Will get ChiRunning, and would love to see the DVD. Thanks!

  186. I am trying to find ways to not run so heavy and run without feeling pain afterwards. I got a bad knee and it seems only thing that helps is not to overstride and to take tiny steps which means I am extremely slow. This does not bother me – I just want to learn more about to run further without the pain.

Leave a Comment

*